This Too Shall Pass

All Of It, Want it to or not, it shall pass.

The Meaning Of Life

Where do you find it?

This question was asked on a few platforms and the responses that came in ranged from “cars” to “taking adventures” to “spending time with family.

All of those are perfect answers. The reality is sort of simple. The meaning of life is truly up to you, me, that person over there. And why someone chooses their meaning isn’t up to you, and there “ain’t no use to wonder why”. Though, you could always ask.

This question was sparked from an article in Outside Magazine’s recent edition about “health”. The words created a curiosity which made me want to know every person’s answer to that question.

“So, at her hours that night, after we’d downed a couple of glasses of whiskey and a cast-iron skillet of polenta and melted cheese, I asked her “What is the meaning of life”

“The meaning of life is to live it”

The bourbon fog cleared momentarily. I looked at her, “that’s it”, she said, smiling.”

It went on beyond that. And the next paragraph summed it up perfectly .

“The next day Cat texted me to clarify that the meaning of life is to live it while not making it worse for other living things in the process. That’s actually the hardesst part, I think, do no harm” she wrote. “

So that seems pretty perfect, living your life can mean “cars”, can mean “taking adventures”, can mean “spending time with family”, and it can mean anything you want it to mean as long as you live it, and even more so if you live it while not making it worse for other living things in the process.

What is the meaning of your life?

One thing I can promise you, no matter what, is that “This Too Shall Pass”.

Really though, it will. No matter what you’re going through, this too shall pass.

It seems as though almost everyone will share these words when someone is going through a rough patch, when someone is having to face a challenge. Thoughts about “this too shall pass” were shared best by Tom Hanks, to which he says

“if you’re having a low day, a crappy day – this too shall pass. If you’re on top of the world, having the best day of your life – this too shall pass.”

This comes full circle back to the meaning of life. The meaning for you, not others, not what someone wants your meaning of life to be.

If you are going to live, then choose to live. In the high times, the low times, the middle times. The times that will come and go, in many cases, before you’re ready.

“Why?”

Because this too shall pass….

It’s not always easy to live in the moment, it’s not always easy to live your life the way you want, it’s not always easy to live in the moment before it passes. But you got this!

I do need to put something personal out there.

We all have our reaches in life. A path we want to make strides on, a goal. So many times we keep it to ourselves, maybe as a way to not feel bad if we run off course, maybe as a way to not be judged, maybe as a way to not be held accountable.

Long story short, last year I raced one single BMX race and I did so out of spite. (That’s a story for another day.")

Well, the more I looked at my bikes, the more I began thinking about risk and reward. And that I think I am done crashing because I tend to crash often.

I listed my bikes for sale. Then a few days later I found out that the 2024 world championships will be in South Carolina. Needless to say, my bikes are no longer for sale.

And for whatever reason above, this is a goal I am putting out to the universe and sharing as a way to support my own accountability that I will be working hard to qualify for team USA to race worlds in 2024.

So here’s to not crashing and accountability.

Join the conversation

or to participate.