The Social Media Scam Artist

Social media is the real trickery, and I say "No to you, dang social media!"

You Love Social Media Don’t You?

Come on, don’t lie… You love it. You’re on it, you’re living by it. Waking up in the morning and doing the scroll. Checking in on your ex. Wondering what ___ is up to today, where they are, what they’re eating, who they’re hanging out with.

The list goes on and on and on and on and…. you get the point.

Thing with all that is a cruel reality. The social media you’re scrolling, phone in hand, thumb sliding the screen. You know the one I’m talking about.

That social media you so love is, more often than not, a complete mind fuck. (I would say I’m sorry about that F drop but I’m not because I’m that serious)

The screen can often times make it seem like you’re not doing enough with your life. Like WE are not doing enough with OUR lives. All of us.

We’re not going to the cool places other people are going, we’re not as committed to this or that, or were here too committed to this or that. Being content in this social media world is one of the hardest feelings to grasp.

Can I let you in on a little secret? Two secrets actually??

EDIT::

Sorry, I am not going to go into those secrets. I actually had and then I fell into a spiraling conversation about accounts not being real, curated to trick you into believing a life that isn’t reality, how it’s unhealthy and filters are fake and your day, your life, your face, all of YOU is magical just as you are. It wasn’t the most positive thought process because it all bothers me.

Just know that social media can be poison to your brain. We are all doing our best and comparing yourself to what may not even be reality is a dangerous place to go.

So instead, for now, I move on to being a caterpillar.

The Change Up

I recently shared this thought with someone who, like so many others, finds change to be difficult.

Change is not easy, it was never meant to be.

Some will never accept it and would be more content with zero life change. Routine is their fuel. And honestly - that’s fair.

Routine can be peaceful, less worry, knowing what each day will entail. I do agree with that. You can walk around, munching on leaves. Walk some more, munching on more leaves. Take a few more steps, munch - munch - munch. (this is you being a caterpillar)

Peaceful can also become contentment.

I’m all about being content, I’m less about contentment. Are they the same? For me, they are polar opposites - I could look it up I suppose - Instead I will ask you this…

Do you want to walk around every day, in contentment munching on leaves? Munch munch munch munch munch…

Or do you want to think about all you can become, all you can let go of, the heights you can reach, the places you can discover, the beauty you can become if you just allow yourself…. Change?

If you’re missing the analogy here, the caterpillar lived a fine life, munching around. Then something happened. The caterpillar decided change was on the horizon. Little dude buckled up for the journey. Got comfortable and cozy and then one day came out of that comfort and had turned into a butterfly, you know the rest from here

Be The Mother F’in Butterly!!!!

I believe in you

~Tim

Join the conversation

or to participate.