You Are Right Where You Need To Be

At the exact time you're supposed to....

It Happened, I missed it!

It’s 5:05 AM, the alarm startles me awake. One of those moments where I didn’t even know where I was, how I got there, or how I would get back.

Safest thing to do, turn alarm back on for 5:22. Close my eyes. And go back to sleep.

Best part about that, my original plans were to leave at 5:15. Already on a solid track to make the day a great one. HAH!

5:22 - Alarm goes off again, snooze button. Heck no, you snooze, you lose. This time I got up. Moved the trailer around loaded life up and hit the road about an hour late. Vermont here I come!

It’s in these moments that it’s easy to get derailed. To feel as if the day is already a loss. Trying to figure how or where you’ll get the time back. Or how you missed the departure and what now, the day is going to be in ruins… An hour late means no time to stop…

So easy to jump on the negative train being conducted by the engineer called Anxiety.

Then it happens.

You stop at the stop sign, turn left and right there in front of you, it’s magic. The universe saying “oh hey, it’s me, thanks for coming by”.

The way the sun is attempting to burn through the clouds, painting the landscape in pastels, the fog sitting heavy in the valley. You realize you are exactly where you’re supposed to be when you’re supposed to be there. And that, that was the start to my Friday.

But this is where I was supposed to be for this moment of magic.

It was in this dreamy moment where the beauty sunk in and I realized I wasn’t late at all, my original plans just had me leaving too early to even know what I would miss.

Some other things that could have happened had I left at 5:15 AM - I could have been involved in an accident. Gotten a flat tire. Fallen while doing work in Vermont that day. Or anything else you can imagine.

You never know why the original schedule fell to the wayside, but chances are it was for a good reason. The hardest thing to do in those moments though, is to see and know that.

All of that was my long way of saying “if you’re running late, it’s okay. There may be magic right around the corner for you.” (if you’re willing to open your eyes to it)

YOU ARE RIGHT WHERE YOU NEED TO BE - AT THE EXACT TIME YOU’RE SUPPOSED TO BE THERE.

As you now wake up, welcoming in another Monday, a new week, and the 2nd half of August. I have a challenge.

So often, something we see, someone we meet, a story we hear has an effect on us.

Here is the ask, the challenge, the favor. And maybe not just this week but for all the weeks ahead.

If you are moved by someone. By someone’s work, by their friendship, by their art, their words, or countless other things. Tell them.

You may not know how much they need that ounce of encouragement. To feel noticed. To feel and know that what they are doing, saying, or acting on is making a difference. To feel as if their efforts are all worth while.

We all matter - we are all here trying to do our best!

In Other News

Join the conversation

or to participate.